Choose screen count and see dock options
Laptop · Reviewed 8 September 2026 · Documentation-based, not hands-on testing
Which dock options should you consider?
For HP EliteBook 840 G8, choose HP USB-C Dock G5 when its rear HDMI and DisplayPort layout is enough and you want a conventional USB-C deployment. Choose HP Thunderbolt Dock 120W G4 (4J0A2AA) when the notebook's Thunderbolt 4 path and the G4's downstream connectivity are the reason to dock. HP's exact 5Z5B5EA specification sheet lists both accessories. It does not turn either listing into a promise for every display combination, and a different 840 G8 SKU still needs its configuration checked.
HP USB-C Dock G5
HP lists the G5 in the reviewed EliteBook 840 G8 5Z5B5EA sheet and documents rear HDMI and DisplayPort outputs with up to 100 W host power.
Check first: Two 4K60 displays require the right host DisplayPort capability and dock mode. The exact SKU sheet does not state every combined monitor mode.
HP Thunderbolt Dock 120W G4 / 4J0A2AA
The same exact-model sheet lists this Thunderbolt 4 dock package, making it the documented higher-bandwidth HP option for the reviewed SKU.
Check first: The 120 W supply rating is not the power delivered to the notebook. Confirm the exact package, firmware, monitor outputs and negotiated charge.
Direct Thunderbolt 4 display baseline
The notebook's Thunderbolt 4 connection is the clean way to separate a host or monitor problem from the dock path.
Check first: Use a known video-capable cable or adapter. A direct result does not establish an unlisted dock or the same mode through MST.
Connect displays and power
- Computer cable
- Connect the dock's specified USB-C or Thunderbolt cable directly to a documented Thunderbolt 4 port, with no extension or second hub.
- USB-C Dock G5 displays
- Use rear HDMI or DisplayPort. Prove one screen first; the front USB-C accessory port is not the documented display output.
- Thunderbolt G4 displays
- Use outputs documented for the exact G4 package and add displays one at a time. Keep the dock's downstream Thunderbolt path distinct from ordinary USB-C accessory ports.
- Power
- Use the exact dock supply and verify charging in Windows. Compare with the notebook's original USB-C adapter if the battery drains or charging is not reported.
First recovery steps by symptom
Nothing on the dock works
- Read the dock label and confirm its matching AC supply.
- Reconnect the specified host cable directly to a Thunderbolt 4 port.
- Try the other host port and one known-good USB device before reconnecting monitors.
USB works but a display is blank
- Test that display alone and select its exact input.
- Use one documented dock output at a moderate mode, then test the display directly from the notebook.
- If direct video works, update only HP-listed host and dock components before restoring additional screens.
Charging is slow or absent
- Check Windows charging state and the dock supply label rather than inferring power from working USB devices.
- Reseat the host cable and remove high-draw accessories for the test.
- Compare with the original HP USB-C adapter and keep it connected while the dock power path is investigated.
Still unknown: The reviewed sheet covers SKU 5Z5B5EA; memory, display panel, regional SKU and firmware can differ. HP does not establish every mixed-resolution, refresh-rate, HDR, adapter, cable, security-policy or sleep/wake combination for both docks in that sheet, and no physical 840 G8 setup was tested here.
Compare documented options · Check screens and power
Applies to HP EliteBook 840 G8, with 5Z5B5EA as the exact reviewed SKU. Do not transfer the result to 840 G7, G9, Aero G8 or x360 830 G8. Sources reviewed 19 September 2026. Manufacturer documentation is not a Connect Your Dock hardware test.
Exact manufacturer references
Dock options for this exact device
Manufacturer guidance
4K and three-screen modes depend on the host’s DisplayPort capability and dock display mode.
- Screens
- Confirm combined screen modes
- Charging
- Up to 100 W; G5 supply is 120 W. Confirm the laptop requirement.
- Software
- No DisplayLink for video
- Cables
- Dock USB-C host cable + HDMI or DisplayPort screen cables.
Full conditions & sources
HP names the USB-C Dock G5 in this model’s linked document. Check your exact configuration, current firmware and combined display modes; the listing is not a complete desk test.
Manufacturer guidance. This is a shortlist, not a test of your complete desk.
Manufacturer guidance
- Screens
- Confirm combined screen modes
- Charging
- Up to 100 W USB-C host delivery; 120 W names the supply, not laptop delivery.
- Software
- No DisplayLink for video
- Cables
- Attached Thunderbolt host cable + screen cables for the selected HDMI, DP or USB-C video outputs.
Full conditions & sources
HP lists Thunderbolt Dock 120W G4 / 4J0A2AA in the reviewed 840 G8 SKU sheet. Up to 100 W host delivery is distinct from the 120 W supply. Check the exact screen modes.
Manufacturer guidance. This is a shortlist, not a test of your complete desk.
Check model-specific limits
- Screens
- Confirm combined screen modes
- Charging
- Up to 98 W; confirm host charging
- Software
- No DisplayLink for video
- Cables
- Thunderbolt host cable + screen cables. HDMI screens need suitable video adapters.
Full conditions & sources
The exact model’s published video interface meets the dock’s host requirements. This is an inference from separate specifications, not a manufacturer-approved pair or a hardware test. Confirm screen modes, charging, firmware and peripherals.
Check model-specific limits. This is a shortlist, not a test of your complete desk.
Check model-specific limits
- Screens
- Confirm combined screen modes
- Charging
- Up to 100 W advertised; 98 W certified. Confirm actual host delivery.
- Software
- No DisplayLink for video
- Cables
- Included 1 m Thunderbolt 4 host cable; bring HDMI/DisplayPort cables. On supported two-screen Macs, use one output per group.
Full conditions & sources
The exact model’s published video interface meets the dock’s host requirements. This is an inference from separate specifications, not a manufacturer-approved pair or a hardware test. Confirm screen modes, charging, firmware and peripherals.
Check model-specific limits. This is a shortlist, not a test of your complete desk.
Check model-specific limits
Two revisions share this name: black V1 (Aug 2022–Aug 2024) and silver V2 (serial 4157+, Aug 2024 onward). Identify yours before using port guidance.
- Screens
- 2 external screens maximum; check picture modes
- Charging
- Up to 100 W to a compatible USB-C charging host; negotiation and workload still matter.
- Software
- DisplayLink required
- Cables
- Included USB-C host cable; bring one HDMI/DisplayPort cable per logical display group.
Full conditions & sources
The exact model’s published video interface meets the dock’s host requirements. This is an inference from separate specifications, not a manufacturer-approved pair or a hardware test. Confirm screen modes, charging, firmware and peripherals.
Check model-specific limits. This is a shortlist, not a test of your complete desk.
HP G5: ports, power and screen checks
| Check | For this setup |
|---|
| Computer cable | The attached G5 USB-C cable goes to the laptop’s video-capable USB-C port. |
|---|
| Screen cables | Use rear HDMI or DisplayPort. The front USB-C socket is for data and 15 W accessory power, not a monitor. |
|---|
| Two Full HD screens | Listed in every G5 bandwidth column, assuming the host supports the display count. Confirm the exact laptop configuration and OS. |
|---|
| Two 4K60 screens | Require DP 1.3/1.4 in high-resolution mode, or DP 1.4 with DSC in the default mode. A USB-C socket alone establishes neither. |
|---|
| Three 4K60 screens | Only listed with DP 1.4 DSC in high-resolution mode; all three rear video outputs are used. |
|---|
| Power | Up to 100 W to supported HP hosts. A workstation requiring more needs separate supported power. |
|---|
See the cable arrangement and troubleshooting steps
Device-specific limits
HP lists the G5 and Thunderbolt G4 in the reviewed 840 G8 SKU sheet. Confirm your configuration and display modes.
Documented direct connection: Thunderbolt 4 USB-C video / charging port.
Check one screen without a dockBefore choosing a dock
- Match the entire device name, including processor, generation and chassis variant.
- Record your screen models, inputs and intended resolutions and refresh rates.
- Confirm those screens work together through the proposed dock outputs.
- Check the supplied power adapter, laptop charging requirement and software permission.
Read the relevant setup guide · Fix a connection problem
Related devices