Choose screen count and see dock options
Laptop · Reviewed 8 September 2026 · Documentation-based, not hands-on testing
Which dock options should you consider?
For HP EliteBook 850 G5, start with HP USB-C Dock G5 when built-in HDMI and DisplayPort outputs suit the desk. Consider HP Thunderbolt Dock 120W G2 (2UK37AA) for a documented legacy Thunderbolt deployment with DisplayPort, downstream USB-C/Thunderbolt and VGA outputs. HP names the exact notebook for both. The G5 and this 120 W G2 package each advertise up to 100 W to the host; that is a dock ceiling, not a measured charging result for every 850 G5 configuration. Do not transfer this answer to the 230 W G2 combo-cable package or another EliteBook generation.
HP USB-C Dock G5
HP's July 2020 compatibility table explicitly includes EliteBook 850 G5, and the dock provides rear HDMI plus two DisplayPort outputs.
Check first: Higher dual- or triple-display modes depend on the notebook's DisplayPort capability and the dock's high-resolution mode. Start with one screen rather than assuming the socket count is the display count.
HP Thunderbolt Dock 120W G2 / 2UK37AA
HP's Dock Solutions guide lists EliteBook 850 G5 for this exact 120 W package; an institutional deployment record also identifies the pair for two monitors.
Check first: The deployment record does not state resolution or refresh. This dock has no built-in HDMI socket, and the 120 W package is not the 230 W combo-cable version.
Direct Thunderbolt display baseline
A direct monitor or video adapter from the notebook separates the host, cable and monitor from the dock's MST or firmware path.
Check first: Use a documented Thunderbolt/USB-C video path. A successful direct test does not certify an unlisted dock or every adapter.
Connect displays and power
- Computer cable
- Use the selected dock's specified USB-C or Thunderbolt host cable directly to the notebook, without an extension or intermediate hub.
- USB-C Dock G5 displays
- Use rear HDMI or DisplayPort outputs. The front USB-C port is for data and accessory power, not the documented monitor path.
- Thunderbolt G2 displays
- Use DisplayPort, the documented downstream USB-C/Thunderbolt video path or VGA. An HDMI monitor needs a correctly directed active adapter because this dock has no HDMI output.
- Power
- Use the supply belonging to the exact dock package and confirm Windows reports charging. Keep the original HP notebook adapter available while isolating a slow- or no-charge symptom.
First recovery steps by symptom
Nothing on the dock works
- Confirm the complete dock model and its matching HP power supply.
- Reconnect the specified host cable directly and try the notebook's other documented host port if available.
- Test one known-good USB accessory before adding displays or changing graphics settings.
USB works but one or both displays are blank
- Test one monitor alone with its current cable and selected input.
- Move it to a documented rear video output and begin at 1920×1080 60 Hz.
- Add the second display only after the first is stable; on Thunderbolt G2, use an active adapter for HDMI rather than a passive cable assumption.
The dock works but the notebook does not charge
- Check Windows charging state and the dock supply label.
- Reseat the host cable and temporarily remove high-draw accessories.
- Connect the original HP notebook adapter; if charging returns, keep it attached and isolate the dock power path separately.
Still unknown: HP's compatibility rows do not establish the exact 850 G5 graphics option, DisplayPort mode, BIOS or Thunderbolt security setting, dock firmware, negotiated wattage, cable capability, monitor combination or sleep/wake result. The two-monitor deployment record does not identify its modes and is not a Connect Your Dock hardware test.
Compare documented options · Check screens and power
Applies to HP EliteBook 850 G5, excluding 850 G6 and other 800-series generations. HP's July 2020 USB-C Dock G5 table and September 2019 Dock Solutions guide were reviewed with the exact-model support record. Sources reviewed 19 September 2026. Manufacturer documentation is not a Connect Your Dock hardware test.
Exact manufacturer references
Dock options for this exact device
Manufacturer guidance
4K and three-screen modes depend on the host’s DisplayPort capability and dock display mode.
- Screens
- Confirm combined screen modes
- Charging
- Up to 100 W; G5 supply is 120 W. Confirm the laptop requirement.
- Software
- No DisplayLink for video
- Cables
- Dock USB-C host cable + HDMI or DisplayPort screen cables.
Full conditions & sources
HP’s July 2020 datasheet names this model. Recheck current operating-system and firmware support. Confirm combined display modes and charging independently.
Manufacturer guidance. This is a shortlist, not a test of your complete desk.
Manufacturer guidance
Two monitors are documented in deployment; 4K60 is not established by that report.
Legacy model: verify current firmware, OS support, included cable and power supply.
- Screens
- 2-screen deployment; resolution unconfirmed
- Charging
- Up to 100 W host power from the 120 W supply; not the 230 W or combo-cable variant.
- Software
- No DisplayLink for video
- Cables
- G2 host cable + DisplayPort cables or correctly directed video adapters. No HDMI socket.
Full conditions & sources
HP’s 2019 compatibility table covers this model or its stated generation group. This is legacy manufacturer guidance; current firmware, OS and combined screen modes need checking. Michigan separately reports two-monitor deployment support for this exact model; it does not state those monitors’ resolutions.
Manufacturer guidance. This is a shortlist, not a test of your complete desk.
HP G5: ports, power and screen checks
| Check | For this setup |
|---|
| Computer cable | The attached G5 USB-C cable goes to the laptop’s video-capable USB-C port. |
|---|
| Screen cables | Use rear HDMI or DisplayPort. The front USB-C socket is for data and 15 W accessory power, not a monitor. |
|---|
| Two Full HD screens | Listed in every G5 bandwidth column, assuming the host supports the display count. Confirm the exact laptop configuration and OS. |
|---|
| Two 4K60 screens | Require DP 1.3/1.4 in high-resolution mode, or DP 1.4 with DSC in the default mode. A USB-C socket alone establishes neither. |
|---|
| Three 4K60 screens | Only listed with DP 1.4 DSC in high-resolution mode; all three rear video outputs are used. |
|---|
| Power | Up to 100 W to supported HP hosts. A workstation requiring more needs separate supported power. |
|---|
See the cable arrangement and troubleshooting steps
Thunderbolt G2 120W: an additional documented option
| Check | For this setup |
|---|
| Model match | 2UK37AA / 120 W version. Do not substitute the 230 W or combo-cable charging claim. |
|---|
| Monitor outputs | Two DisplayPorts, rear USB-C video, rear Thunderbolt and VGA. There is no built-in HDMI socket. |
|---|
| HDMI screen | Needs a correctly directed video adapter rated for the target mode. An HDMI cable alone does not fit this dock. |
|---|
| Two-screen evidence | Michigan documents this exact model with two monitors, without resolutions. |
|---|
| Charging | Up to 100 W to the host; keep the laptop’s own charger available for verification. |
|---|
See the cable arrangement and troubleshooting steps
Device-specific limits
HP’s July 2020 datasheet names this model. Recheck current operating-system and firmware support. Confirm combined display modes and charging independently.
Before choosing a dock
- Match the entire device name, including processor, generation and chassis variant.
- Record your screen models, inputs and intended resolutions and refresh rates.
- Confirm those screens work together through the proposed dock outputs.
- Check the supplied power adapter, laptop charging requirement and software permission.
Read the relevant setup guide · Fix a connection problem
Related devices