EliteBook 840 G5 docks: choose HP USB-C G5 or Thunderbolt 120W G2

HP names this exact generation for both dock families, but their host, display and power arrangements differ.

Choose screen count and see dock options

Laptop · Reviewed 8 September 2026 · Documentation-based, not hands-on testing

Which dock options should you consider?

For HP EliteBook 840 G5, consider HP USB-C Dock G5 for the straightforward USB-C path with rear HDMI and DisplayPort outputs, or HP Thunderbolt Dock 120W G2 (2UK37AA) for the Thunderbolt-oriented workplace deployment. HP lists the exact notebook for both. The USB-C Dock G5 can supply up to 100 W to supported HP hosts, and the Thunderbolt G2 120 W package also documents up to 100 W host power; that is a dock maximum, not proof of the wattage negotiated by every 840 G5 configuration. A University of Michigan deployment record reports two monitors with the G2 dock on this model, but it does not publish their resolutions.

HP USB-C Dock G5

HP's July 2020 compatibility list names EliteBook 840 G5, and the dock provides built-in HDMI and DisplayPort monitor outputs.

Check first: Use the rear display outputs. The front USB-C accessory port is not the documented monitor output and provides only accessory power/data.

HP Thunderbolt Dock 120W G2 (2UK37AA)

HP's Dock Solutions guide lists EliteBook 840 G5 for this exact 120 W package; an institutional deployment reports two monitors on the pair.

Check first: The field report does not state resolution, refresh rate or all configurations. Do not turn it into a universal two-4K claim.

Direct USB-C/Thunderbolt display baseline

One direct display helps distinguish the notebook and cable from the dock's MST, adapter or firmware path.

Check first: A direct result does not certify an unlisted dock or establish the same ceiling through every adapter.

Connect displays and power

Computer cable
Use the dock's specified USB-C or Thunderbolt host cable directly to the EliteBook. Avoid charge-only cables, extensions and intermediate hubs.
USB-C Dock G5 displays
Use rear HDMI or DisplayPort outputs. Two FHD displays are within HP's documented bandwidth table; higher dual-display modes depend on the host's DisplayPort capability.
Thunderbolt G2 displays
Use its documented DisplayPort, downstream USB-C/Thunderbolt or VGA path; this dock does not provide a built-in HDMI output.
Power
Power the dock with its exact supply and check Windows charging state. Keep the original HP notebook adapter available when the negotiated wattage or performance is uncertain.

First recovery steps by symptom

Nothing on the dock works

  1. Confirm the exact dock model and its HP power supply.
  2. Reconnect the specified host cable directly to the notebook.
  3. Test one USB device, then install only HP-listed notebook BIOS and dock firmware before reconnecting displays.

One or both displays are blank

  1. Test one monitor alone with its cable and correct input.
  2. Use a documented rear display output and begin at 1920×1080 60 Hz.
  3. Add the second display only after the first is stable; for Thunderbolt G2 do not look for a nonexistent built-in HDMI port.

The dock works but the notebook does not charge

  1. Check the dock supply rating and Windows charging status.
  2. Reseat the host cable and remove high-draw accessories during the test.
  3. Connect the original HP notebook adapter; if charging returns, retain it and isolate the dock power path.

Still unknown: The exact EliteBook 840 G5 DisplayPort mode, graphics configuration, BIOS, Thunderbolt security settings, dock firmware, cables and monitor resolutions remain material. HP's tables do not prove dual 4K60 for every 840 G5, and the institutional two-monitor deployment does not identify its modes or constitute laboratory testing.

Compare documented options · Check screens and power

Applies to HP EliteBook 840 G5, excluding the separately named Healthcare Edition. HP's July 2020 USB-C Dock G5 and September 2019 Dock Solutions documents were reviewed with the deployment record. Sources reviewed 19 September 2026. Manufacturer documentation is not a Connect Your Dock hardware test.

Exact manufacturer references

Dock options for this exact device

Manufacturer guidance

HP USB-C Dock G5

4K and three-screen modes depend on the host’s DisplayPort capability and dock display mode.

Screens
Confirm combined screen modes
Charging
Up to 100 W; G5 supply is 120 W. Confirm the laptop requirement.
Software
No DisplayLink for video
Cables
Dock USB-C host cable + HDMI or DisplayPort screen cables.
Full conditions & sources

HP’s July 2020 datasheet names this model. Recheck current operating-system and firmware support. Confirm combined display modes and charging independently.

Manufacturer guidance. This is a shortlist, not a test of your complete desk.

Manufacturer guidance

HP Thunderbolt Dock 120W G2 / 2UK37AA

Two monitors are documented in deployment; 4K60 is not established by that report.

Legacy model: verify current firmware, OS support, included cable and power supply.

Screens
2-screen deployment; resolution unconfirmed
Charging
Up to 100 W host power from the 120 W supply; not the 230 W or combo-cable variant.
Software
No DisplayLink for video
Cables
G2 host cable + DisplayPort cables or correctly directed video adapters. No HDMI socket.
Full conditions & sources

HP’s 2019 compatibility table covers this model or its stated generation group. This is legacy manufacturer guidance; current firmware, OS and combined screen modes need checking. Michigan separately reports two-monitor deployment support for this exact model; it does not state those monitors’ resolutions.

Manufacturer guidance. This is a shortlist, not a test of your complete desk.

HP G5: ports, power and screen checks

CheckFor this setup
Computer cableThe attached G5 USB-C cable goes to the laptop’s video-capable USB-C port.
Screen cablesUse rear HDMI or DisplayPort. The front USB-C socket is for data and 15 W accessory power, not a monitor.
Two Full HD screensListed in every G5 bandwidth column, assuming the host supports the display count. Confirm the exact laptop configuration and OS.
Two 4K60 screensRequire DP 1.3/1.4 in high-resolution mode, or DP 1.4 with DSC in the default mode. A USB-C socket alone establishes neither.
Three 4K60 screensOnly listed with DP 1.4 DSC in high-resolution mode; all three rear video outputs are used.
PowerUp to 100 W to supported HP hosts. A workstation requiring more needs separate supported power.

See the cable arrangement and troubleshooting steps

Thunderbolt G2 120W: an additional documented option

CheckFor this setup
Model match2UK37AA / 120 W version. Do not substitute the 230 W or combo-cable charging claim.
Monitor outputsTwo DisplayPorts, rear USB-C video, rear Thunderbolt and VGA. There is no built-in HDMI socket.
HDMI screenNeeds a correctly directed video adapter rated for the target mode. An HDMI cable alone does not fit this dock.
Two-screen evidenceMichigan documents this exact model with two monitors, without resolutions.
ChargingUp to 100 W to the host; keep the laptop’s own charger available for verification.

See the cable arrangement and troubleshooting steps

Device-specific limits

HP’s July 2020 datasheet names this model. Recheck current operating-system and firmware support. Confirm combined display modes and charging independently.

Before choosing a dock

  1. Match the entire device name, including processor, generation and chassis variant.
  2. Record your screen models, inputs and intended resolutions and refresh rates.
  3. Confirm those screens work together through the proposed dock outputs.
  4. Check the supplied power adapter, laptop charging requirement and software permission.

Read the relevant setup guide · Fix a connection problem

Related devices